Illinois Educational Standards

Common Core and PARCC
The Common Core is a set of academic standards for Math and English . These standards are learning goals for what students should know and be able to do in each grade.

You can view the standards here (opens in a new window).

PARCC stands for “Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers”, and is a consortium of eight states, the District of Columbia, and the Breau of Indian Education, that came together to create a standard for K-12 assessment in English and Mathematics. In the state of Illinois, it’s currently used for grades 3-8.

The PARCC is an end-of-year assessment given to grade 3-8 students that replaced ISAT test starting in the 2014-2015 school year.

PARCC is an entirely different test than ISAT. PARCC emphasizes a student’s ability to think critically, is given on the computer, has much longer testing sessions, and the standards for meeting and exceeding grade level expectations are much higher.

It’s based on Common Core Standards.

Documents and Guides

PARCC Fact Sheets

PARCC Fact Sheet – EnglishPARCC Fact Sheet – Spanish

New IL Standards

PARCC New IL Standards



Stevens Amendment

Disclosure of Federal Participation
(Title I, Title II, and Title VI)

Projects or programs funded in whole or in part with Federal grant money must credit the Federal government for the Federal government’s portion of the financial support.

This web page citation informs the public that the use of Federal dollars in Gavin School District 37 meets the Stevens Amendment requirement. Staff development opportunities, resource purchases, and personnel have been funded in whole or in part with Federal entitlement dollars.